Ph.D.-School on Innovation and Economic Development
Preliminary Programme


  9:00 am – 10:30 amCoffee - break11:00 am – 1:00 pmLunch 2h30 pm – 4:00 pmCoffee - break4:30 pm – 6:00 pm
Wednesday 2Registration and Welcome Session L1: Lundväll SP: Lundväll, SantarelliL2: Santarelli
Thursday 3L3: Godinho SP: Xielin Liu, Godinho L4: Xielin Liu L5: Fagerberg
Friday 4L6: Fagerberg SP: Lundväll, Xielin Liu L7: Lundväll Debate Session and Dinner*
Saturday 5
Free Day
 
Sunday 6
Free Day
 
Monday 7L8: Cassiolato SP: Mani, Cassiolato L9: Mani L10: Lastres
Tuesday 8L11: Steinmueller SP: Lastres, Steinmueller L12: Malerba L13: Verspagen
Wednesday 9L14: Malerba SP: Verspagen, Cassiolato L15: Verspagen L16: Mani
Thursday 10L17: Foray SP: Foray, Steinmueller L18: Cassiolato, Lastres L19: Arundel
Friday 11L20: Steinmueller SP: Arundel, Lastres L21: Arundel Closing Session


L – Lecture Session
SP – Students’ Presentation and Discussion (30 Minutes per Student)

* Friday (May 4) afternoon’s Lecture and Debate Sessions will take place from 3h p.m. onwards at the “Picoas Plaza” Amphitheatre, outside the IST campus (details on how to reach it will be provided with the Academy’s materials. The focus of the debate will be on the EU Lisbon Innovation Agenda and its impact on developing countries. The debate will have the presence of academics and policy practitioners who will make short interventions, followed by discussion with students. An informal dinner near the premises, joining all participants, will follow.


Student Sessions Schedule


 TimeStudents Presenting
Wednesday 22h30 pm – 4:00 pmAsel Doranova
Ian Clarcke
Victor Feria
Thursday 311:00 am – 1:00 pmGuannan Xu
Manja Jonas
Renata Seldin
Sergei Filippov
Friday 411:00 am – 1:00 pmFranco Chiara
Graziela Zucoloto
Nadhanael G V
Yan Hui
Monday 711:00 am – 1:00 pmBonn Juego
Mahe Arencibia
Mohammad Mehrizi
Noémia Simőes
Tuesday 811:00 am – 1:00 pmFurong Jin
Carlos Bianchi
Nicoletta Marigo
Samia Nour
Wednesday 911:00 am – 1:00 pmKoson Sapprasert
Noura Mansouri
Subash Sasidharan
Victor Centeno
Thursday 1011:00 am – 1:00 pmArchana Pillai
Luciano Ciravegna
Mika Raunio
Yan Tao
Friday 1111:00 am – 1:00 pmJúlia Paranhos
Savita Bhat
Sangook Park
Younes Aboutaib



Lecturers


Anthony Arundel, University of Maastricht
a.arundel@merit.unimaas.nl

Jose Cassiolato, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
cassio@ie.ufrj.br

Jan Fagerberg, University of Oslo
jan.fagerberg@tik.uio.no

Dominique Foray, École Polytechnique Federále de Lausanne
dominique.foray@epfl.ch

Manuel M. Godinho, Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestăo, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa
mgodinho@iseg.utl.pt
  • L3: Towards a Taxonomy of National Innovation Systems [presentation] [paper]


  • Helena Lastres, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
    hlastres@ie.ufrj.br

    Xielin Liu, National Research Center for Science and Technology for Development, Pequim, China
    liuxielin@gucas.ac.cn
  • L4: New Direction of Science, Technology and Innovation Policy in China. Innovation and Catch-up in the Chinese Telecommunications Industry [presentation 1] [presentation 2] [presentation 3] [presentation 4] [paper 1] [paper 2]


  • Bengt-Ake Lundväll, University of Aalborg
    bal@business.auc.dk
  • L1: From the Economics of Knowledge to the Learning Economy [presentation] [paper]
  • L7: Innovation Systems Research - Where it Came From and Where it Might Go? [presentation] [paper]


  • Franco Malerba, Universitá Luigi Bocconi
    franco.malerba@uni-bocconi.it

    Sunil Mani, Center for Development Studies, Kerala, India
    Mani@cds.ac.in

    Enrico Santarelli, Universitŕ degli Studi di Bologna
    santarel@spbo.unibo.it
  • L2: Determinants of the Skill Bias: Theory and Empirical Evidence [presentation] [paper]


  • Edward Steinmueller, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex
    W.E.Steinmueller@sussex.ac.uk

    Bart Verspagen, Technical University, Eindhoven
    b.verspagen@tm.tue.nl


    Other Participants


    Rui Baptista, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa
    rui.baptista@ist.utl.pt

    Erkki Kaukonen, Tampere University, Finland
    Erkki.Kaukonen@uta.fi

    Mika Kautonen, Tampere University, Finland
    mika.kautonen@uta.fi

    Luc Soete (to be confirmed), University of Maastricht
    luc.soete@algec.unimaas.nl



    IST (Instituto Superior Técnico)     IN+ (Center for Innovation, Technology and Policy Research)     ISEG (Instituto Superior de Economia e Gestão)     GLOBELICS (The global network for the economics of learning, innovation, and competence building systems)