Ph.D.-School on National Systems of Innovation and Economic Development
Globelics and the Globelics Academy

Globelics is a global network of scholars working on innovation system-research (see also One major academic aim of the Globelics network is to enrich and enhance the quality of innovation research by applying some of its fundamental concepts such as ‘innovation systems’, ‘competence building’ and ‘interactive learning’ to issues at the core of economic development. It is well known that applying a theoretical framework outside the arena where it was first developed may bring fundamental new theoretical insights. The first Globelics conference was held in Rio de Janeiro, November 2003 (

The Globelics Academy,, will bring together leading scholars in the Globelics network with the major aim of training PhD-students from less developed countries. One result will be to get them better connected to high quality research centres in different parts of the world.

A second academic aim is to stimulate interactive learning between European scholars and scholars from the South and the East (including Eastern Europe). There are already quite a number of individual scholars as well as research groups active in the field of innovation research in Africa, Latin America, Asia and Eastern Europe.

The Globelics Academy, as well as the formation of the GLOBELICS-network, gives Ph.D.-students in the less developed countries, more direct access to the most recent research in the field of innovation.

The Globelics Academy is organized under the auspice of the Interim Scientific Board of Globelics. The Board includes the following scholars:
  • Bengt Åke Lundvall, Prof., Department of Business Studies, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Luc Soete, Prof., Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, Maastricht University, the Netherlands
  • Richard Nelson, Prof., Columbia Graduate School of Business, Columbia's School of International and Public Affairs, and Columbia Law School, U.S.
  • Christopher Freeman, Emeritus Professor, Science and Technology Policy Research, University of Sussex, U.K.
  • Jose Eduardo Cassiolato, Dr., Instituto de Economia da Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Frieder Meyer-Krahmer, Prof., Fraunhofer-Institut für Systemtechnik und Innovationsforschung (ISI), Germany
  • Jorge Niosi, Dr., University of Québec, Canada
  • David Kaplan, Prof., Science and Technology Policy Research Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Manuel Heitor, Prof., Center for Innovation, Technology, and Policy Research, Portugal
  • Shulin Gu, Dr., School of Economics and Management, Tsing Hua University, China.

<< Background